There’s Just Something About That Funk…

Go-Go: The Funk You Can’t Help But Jiggle and Wiggle to

Music is something everyone can relate to, it’s just one of those things we can’t help but like. There are many varieties of music, and today I am going to discuss my personal opinion on one sub-genre in particular: Go-Go Funk. Truth be told I only recently discovered this style of music, having the eclectic tastes that I do I was listening to KMHD on the internet when Chuck Brown’s “Bustin’ Loose”  started playing. I couldn’t help but nod my head and even wiggle in my seat to…how can I describe it in words? Instead of me trying to describe it, here, listen for yourself.

There’s just something about the walking bass, the bongo drums steady cadence, the loud, proud brassy notes of the trumpets and the subtle emphasis of the organ as the whole song comes together. This was only the beginning of my new search for music, most recently I got my hands on a sizable James Brown discography. I can say with certainty that music is a passion of mine that I will never give up. After all I’m going to school currently for an industry that certainly loves to broadcast it. Maybe when I get my own internet radio program not only will I feature a jazz hour but a funk hour as well.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Go-go

Leave a comment